Topic: Hot 41 needs to chill out - flathead overheating

Shinton    -- 06-02-2023 @ 11:53 AM
  Here's a pic of my 1941 Super Deluxe convertible on a hot summer's day (85°F) with stop and go driving. Clearly she doesn't like it. Any suggestions of what to do to keep her cooler? There's a big aluminum radiator (supposedly new from the previous owner) and I just had water pumps replaced. Wondering if an electric fan might be the way to go here? I'm an early Ford newbie so would appreciate any wisdom others have on the subject.

RAK402    -- 06-02-2023 @ 9:10 PM
  That is a BEAUTIFUL '41!!!

First I would make sure that it is really overheating. My 40 appeared to be overheating for years, but it was the poor quality, reproduction sending units giving a false indication. Mine was never overheating! If it isn't boiling, then you might get an infrared temperature gun or (and this is crude) install a cooking thermometer in the radiator cap-either will tell you if it is really overheating.

I would also make sure that, if you are running thermostats, they have not been pushed up into the upper radiator hoses. There are several posts about that on this forum.

I did install the more modern water pumps with the curved impeller vanes and an electric fan, but I am not sure how much good they do.

There are a lot of people on this forum with more knowledge and experience than I have, so you should get lots of good responses on this subject.

37RAGTOPMAN    -- 06-07-2023 @ 3:32 PM
  overheating problem
did you check for bubbles in the coolant, maybe there is a headgasket seepage ?
you can do this at idle on level ground , fill up the radiator so it is full
and use a thermometer in the coolant and compare to what the dash gauge reads,
hope this helps, 37Ragtopman

Barney    -- 06-07-2023 @ 6:33 PM
  Hello Hot41,

Here's my less-than-2 cents:
1. An engine with the ignition too far retarded may overheat.